Welcome Letter

Dear future student,

Welcome to the start of a new school year! I’m so excited to have you in my class this year. I’m also super excited to start my very first year teaching at Plato Academy. I have tons of amazing things in store for us.

Here’s a little about myself- like I mentioned, this is my first year at Plato Academy. I graduated from Marquette University in 2018 where I student taught a class of 31 students (so I am REALLY excited to have such a small class this year), and last year I worked as a teacher’s aide at Ivy Hall Elementary School in Buffalo Grove. I’ve wanted to be a teacher for most of my life, with the exception of a short period when I was five when I wanted to be a princess. I love dancing, baking, trying new restaurants, and making crafts. I’m also a major Disney fan. I currently live in Arlington Heights, as I have for most of my life. I have a younger sister who is just starting her first year of high school this fall.

I want to make sure our explorations this year focus on topics that you are passionate about. I also want to use as many of our explorations as possible to make a difference in the world around us. Our first exploration starts off by answering the question “where does all of our stuff come from, and why does that matter?” This may seem like a simple question, but it has a big impact on people all over the world. Feel free to start thinking about this as we get closer to the start of the school year.

I bet you’ve been reading a lot these past few months out of school. I’m really excited to hear about one of the books you enjoyed.

I hope you have a wonderful summer. I can’t wait to meet you!

Sincerely,

Miss Lizzy

Click here to view the PDF version of this welcome letter

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *